Skip to Content

Your Councillors

Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve.

Councillors are elected for a term of office which lasts four years. To find out when the next election takes place, please visit our elections pages: www.nwleics.gov.uk/elections.

The Council has 38 Councillors, each representing a ward. Councillors have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Elliott Allman

Councillor Elliott Allman

8 Aspen Close, Ravenstone, Leicestershire, LE67 2JS

Home: 07525 865118

Home mobile: 07525 865118

Work: elliott.allman@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
Snibston North
photo of Councillor Robert Ashman

Councillor Robert Ashman

Deputy Leader of the Council and Planning and Infrastructure Portfolio Holder

8 Violet Close, Donisthorpe, Swadlincote, Derbyshire, DE12 7RS

Home: 01530 273762

Work: robert.ashman@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Oakthorpe and Donisthorpe
photo of Councillor Roger Bayliss

Councillor Roger Bayliss

Housing, Property and Customer Services Portfolio Holder

56 Western Close, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2FB

Home: 01530 411055

Work: roger.bayliss@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Holywell
photo of Councillor Carl Benfield

Councillor Carl Benfield

98 Market Street, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 1AP

Home mobile: 07941 250225

Work: carl.benfield@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Green Party
(The Independent Group)
Ashby Castle
photo of Councillor Dave Bigby

Councillor Dave Bigby

16 Tower Gardens, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2GZ

Home: 01530 414960

Home mobile: 07705 765156

Work: david.bigby@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Ashby Willesley
photo of Councillor Angela Black

Councillor Angela Black

204 Bardon Road, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 4BL

Work: angela.black@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Bardon
photo of Councillor Richard Blunt

Councillor Richard Blunt

Leader of the Council

North West Leicestershire District Council, Council Offices, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3FJ

Work: 01530 454510

Work: richard.blunt@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Appleby
photo of Councillor Russell Boam

Councillor Russell Boam

Oaktree, School Lane, Newbold, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 8PF

Home mobile: 07885 442958

Work: russell.boam@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Valley
photo of Councillor Alexander Bridgen

Councillor Alexander Bridgen

21 Spring Lane, Packington, Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 1WU

Home mobile: 07802 402802

Work: alexander.bridgen@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Broom Leys
photo of Councillor John Bridges

Councillor John Bridges

Chairman of the Council

Willow Farm, Ashby Road, Moira, Swadlincote, Derbyshire, DE12 6DP

Home: 01530 564645

Work: john.bridges@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Woulds
photo of Councillor Rachel Canny

Councillor Rachel Canny

Quarryl House, 75 Bondgate, Castle Donington, Derbyshire, DE74 2NR

Home: 01332 850367

Work: rachel.canny@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
Castle Donington Central
photo of Councillor John Clarke

Councillor John Clarke

Shires Retreat, Beresford Court, Newton Road, Heather, Leicestershire, LE67 2RD

Home: 01530 262412

Work: john.clarke@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ibstock West
photo of Councillor David Everitt

Councillor David Everitt

72 Glebe Road, Thringstone, Leicestershire, LE67 8NW

Home: 01530 223074

Work: david.everitt@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Thringstone
photo of Councillor Dr Terri Eynon

Councillor Dr Terri Eynon

1 Wyggeston Road, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3RE

Home: 01530 832622

Work: terri.eynon@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative
(The Labour Group)
Hugglescote St Mary's
photo of Councillor Marie French

Councillor Marie French

4 Bakehouse Close, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 2DF

Work: marie.french@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Coalville East
photo of Councillor John Geary

Councillor John Geary

The Birches, 18 Ashby Road, Sinope, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3AY

Home: 01530 835171

Work: john.geary@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Snibston South
photo of Councillor Louise Gillard

Councillor Louise Gillard

128 St Bernards Road, Whitwick, Leicestershire, LE67 5GW

Home: 01530 452930

Work: louise.gillard@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Thornborough
photo of Councillor Stuart Gillard

Councillor Stuart Gillard

23 Rosslyn Road, Whitwick, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 5PU

Home mobile: 07733 717571

Work: stuart.gillard@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Hermitage
photo of Councillor Tony Gillard

Councillor Tony Gillard

Business and Regeneration Portfolio Holder

128 St Bernards Road, Whitwick, Leicestershire, LE67 5GW

Home mobile: 07970 894257

Work: tony.gillard@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Holly Hayes
photo of Councillor Dan Harrison

Councillor Dan Harrison

32 Wilfred Gardens, Ashby De La Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2GX

Home mobile: 07833 254779

Work: daniel.harrison@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Money Hill
photo of Councillor Bertie Harrison-Rushton

Councillor Bertie Harrison-Rushton

Hood House, 19 Lower Church Street, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 1AB

Work: bertie.harrison-rushton@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Kegworth
photo of Councillor Michael Hay

Councillor Michael Hay

80 High Street, Castle Donington, Derbyshire, DE74 2PQ

Work: 07522147236

Work: michael.hay@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Castle Donington Park
photo of Councillor Gill Hoult

Councillor Gill Hoult

1 Shellbrook Close, Shellbrook, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2UJ

Home: 01530 468179

Work: gill.hoult@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Blackfordby
photo of Councillor Jim Hoult

Councillor Jim Hoult

1 Shellbrook Close, Shellbrook, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2UJ

Home: 01530 468179

Work: jim.hoult@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Ivanhoe
photo of Councillor Russell Johnson

Councillor Russell Johnson

1 Hawley Close, Hugglescote, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 2BP

Home: 01530 832457

Home mobile: 07976 728003

Work: russell.johnson@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Hugglescote St John's
photo of Councillor John Legrys

Councillor John Legrys

1 Wyggeston Road, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3RE

Home: 01530 832622

Work: john.legrys@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative
(The Labour Group)
Coalville West
photo of Councillor Keith Merrie MBE

Councillor Keith Merrie MBE

30 Rushby Road, Ellistown, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 1FR

Home mobile: 07596 112270

Work: keith.merrie@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ellistown and Battleflat
photo of Councillor Virge Richichi

Councillor Virge Richichi

Corner Farm, Main Street, Heather, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 2QP

Work: 01530 260106

Home: 01530 411433

Home mobile: 07971 962118

Work: virge.richichi@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Sence Valley
photo of Councillor Nicholas Rushton

Councillor Nicholas Rushton

Corporate Portfolio Holder

Hood House, 19 Lower Church Street, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 1AB

Work: 01530 412059

Home: 01530 412059

Home mobile: 07837 841441

Work: nicholas.rushton@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Long Whatton and Diseworth
photo of Councillor Tony Saffell

Councillor Tony Saffell

6 Barn Close, Castle Donington, Derby, DE74 2TP

Home: 01332 810706

Work: tonyc.saffell@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Independent
(The Independent Group)
Castle Donington Castle
photo of Councillor Carol Sewell

Councillor Carol Sewell

Home: 01509556541

Home mobile: 07905608470

Work: carol.sewell@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Daleacre Hill
photo of Councillor Sean Sheahan

Councillor Sean Sheahan

21 Amersham Way, Measham, Swadlincote, Derbyshire, DE12 7PD

Home mobile: 07429 055402

Work: sean.sheahan@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative
(The Labour Group)
Measham South
photo of Councillor Nigel Smith

Councillor Nigel Smith

The White House, Main Street, Ravenstone, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 2AS

Home: 01530 835668

Work: nigel.smith@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ravenstone and Packington
photo of Councillor David Stevenson

Councillor David Stevenson

28 Main Street, Worthington, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 1RP

Home mobile: 07762 924720

Work: david.stevenson@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Worthington and Breedon
photo of Councillor Daniel Tebbutt

Councillor Daniel Tebbutt

North West Leicestershire District Council, Council Offices, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3FJ

Work mobile: 074920517471

Home mobile: 07492 051471

Work: daniel.tebbutt@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Ibstock East
photo of Councillor Jake Windram

Councillor Jake Windram

56 Cropston Drive, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 4HQ

Work: jake.windram@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Greenhill
photo of Councillor Andrew Woodman

Councillor Andrew Woodman

Community Services Portfolio Holder

4 Grindley Way, Woodville, Swadlincote, Derbyshire, DE11 7BN

Work: 07932 758555

Home: 07932 758555

Work: andrew.woodman@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Measham North
photo of Councillor Michael Wyatt

Councillor Michael Wyatt

51 Sharpley Avenue, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 4DU

Home mobile: 07773 341531

Work: michael.wyatt@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Castle Rock