Skip to Content

Your Councillors

Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve.

Councillors are elected for a term of office which lasts four years. To find out when the next election takes place, please visit our elections pages: www.nwleics.gov.uk/elections.

The Council has 38 Councillors, each representing a ward. Councillors have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Ron Adams

Councillor Ron Adams

3 Durris Close, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 4RP

Home: 01530 459235

Home mobile: 07960 319941

Work: ronnie.adams@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Broom Leys
photo of Councillor Graham Allman

Councillor Graham Allman

Council Offices, Whitwick Road, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3FJ

Home mobile: 07765 251208

Work: graham.allman@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Money Hill
photo of Councillor Robert Ashman

Councillor Robert Ashman

8 Violet Close, Donisthorpe, Swadlincote, Derbys, DE12 7RS

Home: 01530 273762

Work: robert.ashman@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Oakthorpe and Donisthorpe
photo of Councillor Roger Bayliss

Councillor Roger Bayliss

Portfolio Holder for Housing

56 Western Close, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2FB

Home: 01530 411055

Work: roger.bayliss@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Holywell
photo of Councillor Richard Blunt

Councillor Richard Blunt

Leader of the Council

North West Leicestershire District Council, Council Offices, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3FJ

Work: 01530 454510

Work: richard.blunt@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Appleby
photo of Councillor Russell Boam

Councillor Russell Boam

Oaktree, School Lane, Newbold, Coalville, Leics, LE67 8PF

Home mobile: 07885 442958

Work: russell.boam@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Valley
photo of Councillor John Bridges

Councillor John Bridges

Cabinet Support Member - Regeneration and Planning

Willow Farm, Ashby Road, Moira, Swadlincote, Derbys, DE12 6DP

Home: 01530 564645

Work: john.bridges@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Woulds
photo of Councillor Rachel Canny

Councillor Rachel Canny

Quarryl House, 75 Bondgate, Castle Donington, Derby, DE74 2NR

Home: 01332 850367

Work: rachel.canny@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent and Minor Opposition Parties Group)
Castle Donington Central
photo of Councillor John Clarke

Councillor John Clarke

Chairman of the Council and Cabinet Support Member - Housing Portfolio

Shires Retreat, Beresford Court, Newton Road, Heather, Leics, LE67 2RD

Home: 01530 262412

Work: john.clarke@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ibstock West
photo of Councillor Nick Clarke

Councillor Nick Clarke

3 Willow Green, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 4SZ

Home: 01530 452057

Home mobile: 07891 073391

Work: nick.clarke@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative
(The Labour Group)
Greenhill
photo of Councillor John Cotterill

Councillor John Cotterill

The Coach House, The Old Vicarage, 19 Loughborough Road, Coleorton, Coalville, LE67 8HJ

Home: 01530 589625

Home mobile: 07902 237079

Work: john.cotterill@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Coalville East
photo of Councillor John Coxon

Councillor John Coxon

Cabinet Support Member - Business Portfolio

Highfield House, 66 Leicester Road, New Packington, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 1TQ

Work: 01530 415461

Home: 01530 414300

Home mobile: 07960 375761

Work: john.coxon@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Castle
photo of Councillor David Everitt

Councillor David Everitt

72 Glebe Road, Thringstone, Leicestershire, LE67 8NW

Home: 01530 223074

Home mobile: 07854 687629

Work: david.everitt@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Thringstone
photo of Councillor Dr Terri Eynon

Councillor Dr Terri Eynon

1 Wyggeston Road, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3RE

Home: 01530 832622

Work: terri.eynon@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Hugglescote St Mary's
photo of Councillor John Geary

Councillor John Geary

The Birches, 18 Ashby Road, Sinope, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3AY

Home: 01530 835171

Work: john.geary@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Snibston South
photo of Councillor Stuart Gillard

Councillor Stuart Gillard

23 Rosslyn Road, Whitwick, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 5PU

Home: 01530 223203

Home mobile: 07733 717571

Work: stuart.gillard@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Hermitage
photo of Councillor Tony Gillard

Councillor Tony Gillard

Portfolio Holder for Business

128 St Bernards Road, Whitwick, Leicestershire, LE67 5GW

Home: 01530 452930

Home mobile: 07970 894257

Work: tony.gillard@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Holly Hayes
photo of Councillor Louise Goacher

Councillor Louise Goacher

128 St Bernards Road, Whitwick, Leicestershire, LE67 5GW

Home: 01530 452930

Work: louise.goacher@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Thornborough
photo of Councillor Dan Harrison

Councillor Dan Harrison

32 Wilfred Gardens, Ashby De La Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2GX

Home mobile: 07833 254779

Work: daniel.harrison@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Castle Donington Park
photo of Councillor Gill Hoult

Councillor Gill Hoult

Cabinet Support Member - Corporate Portfolio

1 Shellbrook Close, Shellbrook, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2UJ

Home: 01530 468179

Home mobile: 07858 031197

Work: gill.hoult@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Measham North
photo of Councillor Jim Hoult

Councillor Jim Hoult

1 Shellbrook Close, Shellbrook, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2UJ

Home: 01530 468179

Work: jim.hoult@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Ivanhoe
photo of Councillor Russell Johnson

Councillor Russell Johnson

1 Hawley Close, Hugglescote, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 2BP

Home: 01530 832457

Home mobile: 07976 728003

Work: russell.johnson@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Hugglescote St John's
photo of Councillor Geraint Jones

Councillor Geraint Jones

Oakfield House, Tamworth Road, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 2PR

Work: 01530 415692

Home: 01530 415692

Work: geraint.jones@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ashby Willesley
photo of Councillor John Legrys

Councillor John Legrys

1 Wyggeston Road, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 3RE

Home: 01530 832622

Work: john.legrys@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative
(The Labour Group)
Coalville West
photo of Councillor Susan McKendrick

Councillor Susan McKendrick

4 Greenside Close, Donisthorpe, Swadlincote, Derbys, DE12 7PR

Home: 01530 270722

Work: susan.mckendrick@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent Members)
Blackfordby
photo of Councillor Keith Merrie MBE

Councillor Keith Merrie MBE

30 Rushby Road, Ellistown, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 1FR

Home mobile: 07596 112270

Work: keith.merrie@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ellistown and Battleflat
photo of Councillor Trevor Pendleton

Councillor Trevor Pendleton

Portfolio Holder for Regeneration and Planning

Woodlands, 17a Langley Drive, Kegworth, Derby, DE74 2DN

Home: 01509 569746

Work: trevor.pendleton@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Kegworth
photo of Councillor Paula Purver

Councillor Paula Purver

16 Hough Hill, Swannington, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 8RE

Home: 01530 484977

Work: paula.purver@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Snibston North
photo of Councillor Virge Richichi

Councillor Virge Richichi

Corner Farm, Main Street, Heather, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 2QP

Work: 01530 260106

Home: 01530 411433

Home mobile: 07971 962118

Work: virge.richichi@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Sence Valley
photo of Councillor Nicholas Rushton

Councillor Nicholas Rushton

Corporate Portfolio Holder

Hood House, 19 Lower Church Street, Ashby, Leicestershire, LE65 1AB

Work: 01530 412059

Home: 01530 412059

Home mobile: 07837 841441

Work: nicholas.rushton@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Long Whatton and Diseworth
photo of Councillor Tony Saffell

Councillor Tony Saffell

6 Barn Close, Castle Donington, Derby, DE74 2TP

Home: 01332 810706

Work: tonyc.saffell@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent and Minor Opposition Parties Group)
Castle Donington Castle
photo of Councillor Sean Sheahan

Councillor Sean Sheahan

21 Amersham Way, Measham, Swadlincote, Derby, DE12 7PD

Home mobile: 07429 055402

Work: sean.sheahan@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Labour
(The Labour Group)
Measham South
photo of Councillor Alison Smith MBE

Councillor Alison Smith MBE

Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Community Services

The White House, Main Street, Ravenstone, Leicestershire, LE67 2AS

Home: 01530 835668

Work: alison.smith@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Daleacre Hill
photo of Councillor Nigel Smith

Councillor Nigel Smith

The White House, Main Street, Ravenstone, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 2AS

Home: 01530 835668

Work: nigel.smith@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Ravenstone and Packington
photo of Councillor Michael Specht

Councillor Michael Specht

Deputy Chairman of the Council

14 Forrester Close, Coleorton, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 8GL

Home: 01530 817544

Work: michael.specht@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Bardon
photo of Councillor David Stevenson

Councillor David Stevenson

28 Main Street, Worthington, Ashby de la Zouch, Leicestershire, LE65 1RP

Home: 01530 222970

Home mobile: 07762 924720

Work: david.stevenson@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Conservative
(The Conservative Group)
Worthington and Breedon
photo of Vacancy

Vacancy

  Ibstock East
photo of Councillor Michael Wyatt

Councillor Michael Wyatt

51 Sharpley Avenue, Coalville, Leicestershire, LE67 4DU

Home mobile: 07773 341531

Work: michael.wyatt@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Independent and Minor Opposition Parties Group)
Castle Rock